Home > Alumni Stories, Career, Global Leadership, MSGL Classes, Student Life, Study Abroad > Success Can Be Bittersweet: A Cohort 53 Graduate Shares Her Thoughts on Completing the Program

Success Can Be Bittersweet: A Cohort 53 Graduate Shares Her Thoughts on Completing the Program


After countless study sessions at Starbucks, missing birthday parties here and there and constantly coordinating study sessions with my MSGL cohort mates, all the hard work is about to pay off! It seems like just yesterday I started the program.

Shane (Cohort 53) at the Great Wall of China

Shane (Cohort 53) at the Great Wall of China

Initially, my fears about re-entering academia and life as a full-time student seemed daunting. I dreaded the level of commitment and social sacrifice that comes with the pursuit of any advanced degree. Yet, here I am almost 1 1/2 years later, confident I made the right decision. Most importantly, I feel armed to excel in the professional world. The MSGL program has taught me how to commit to a project from beginning to end, how to manage my time effectively, and really how to take something positive away from EVERY experience, even if it is not exactly what I envisioned it to be. I learned how to be flexible and adaptable above all. It is bitter sweet that this chapter is coming to an end, but I am positive that whatever challenges come my way, I will be ready to conquer them head on. Cheers to Cohort 53 and good luck to all future MSGL cohorts!

Shabnam “Shane” Karimi is a graduate of Cohort 53.  During her time as a student, Shane was instrumental in the creation of a Study Abroad opportunity in China.  While abroad she enrolled in International Comparative Management and Leadership.     

  1. April 26, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    Congrats, Shane! I remember talking with you early in the process and you weren’t quite sure about all this. I knew you’d do well in the program and it’s great to see you reach the finish line. Best wishes for your continued success. Keep in touch!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

